MN Government Updates 11.05

Hortman, Winkler Re-Elected to House DFL Leadership

This evening, the House DFL Caucus re-elected House Speaker Melissa Hortman (DFL-Brooklyn Park) and House Majority Leader Ryan Winkler (DFL-Golden Valley) to their respective leadership posts for the next two years.

The House Republican Caucus is scheduled to meet tomorrow to elect the House minority leader.

Senate Members Elect Leadership

Today, the Senate Republican Caucus and the Senate DFL Caucus elected its leadership for the next two years.

Senate Republicans, who appear to be in the majority once again with 34 members following Tuesday’s election, re-elected Senator Paul Gazelka (R-East Gull Lake) as Senate majority leader.

Meanwhile, the Senate DFL Caucus re-elected Senator Susan Kent (DFL-Woodbury) as Senate minority leader. Kent was first elected to the caucus’s top leadership position in February of this year. Heading into the 2021 Legislative Session, the Senate DFL Caucus is set to have 33 members.

Amos A. Briggs | Government Relations
100 Washington Avenue S | Suite 2200 | Minneapolis MN& 55401

©2020 International Association of Heat and Frost Insulators and Allied Workers Local 34. All rights reserved.